Award-winning author Dashka Slater spins a tale of friendship, magic, and eternal life in The Book of Fatal Errors, an evocative and witty middle-grade fantasy.

Rufus doesn’t just make mistakes – he makes fatal errors. Clumsy and awkward, he feels entrapped by his teasing classmates and their constant laughter. But now it is summer. Rufus is free. He roams the wildlands of his grandfather’s mysterious homestead, blissfully unaware of the danger up ahead.

And there is much danger. Rufus and his snooty cousin Abigail soon become entangled in the tantalizing world of the feylings, mischievous fairly-like creatures desperate to find their way home. In helping the feylings, Rufus tumbles down a dark path rich with age-old secrets and difficult truths. Any move he makes might be his final fatal error.

Or perhaps, his most spectacular beginning.

1280px-Amazon_logo_plain.svg.png
icon-bn-128.png
bambutton.png
bookshop-logo-dark-orig_orig.png
powellsbutton.png

"With mischievous feylings, goblins, and magic, this is an exciting, fast-paced middle-grade fantasy. A delightful read for anyone who loves magic.”

Kirkus

"Amusing scenes balance weightier ones in this appealing chapter book, the first of two volumes planned for the Feylawn Chronicles series.”

Booklist

"Slater has created a fun, emotionally driven fairy story. . . An excellent readalike for “The Spiderwick Chronicles” by Tony DiTerlizzi and Holly Black; recommended for any young fantasy fans.”

—School Library Journal

‚Äč

"[A]n entertaining, fantastical summertime story."
—The Horn Book
 

©2009 Dashka Slater. Designed in Wix by Dan Reitz