Award-winning author Dashka Slater spins a tale of friendship, magic, and eternal life in The Book of Fatal Errors, an evocative and witty middle-grade fantasy.

Rufus doesn’t just make mistakes – he makes fatal errors. Clumsy and awkward, he feels entrapped by his teasing classmates and their constant laughter. But now it is summer. Rufus is free. He roams the wildlands of his grandfather’s mysterious homestead, blissfully unaware of the danger up ahead.

And there is much danger. Rufus and his snooty cousin Abigail soon become entangled in the tantalizing world of the feylings, mischievous fairly-like creatures desperate to find their way home. In helping the feylings, Rufus tumbles down a dark path rich with age-old secrets and difficult truths. Any move he makes might be his final fatal error.

Or perhaps, his most spectacular beginning.

1280px-Amazon_logo_plain.svg.png
icon-bn-128.png
bambutton.png
bookshop-logo-dark-orig_orig.png
powellsbutton.png

"A seamless combination of fantasy and mystery wrapped around a classical coming-of-age narrative, Dashka Slater’s The Book of Fatal Errors grabs the readers hand from the first page and tugs them along at a breakneck pace through twist after twist. Slater is careful not to lose track of the complex relationships among Rufus and the various members of his family; as a result, the book’s magical elements feel grounded in emotional realism. Put this fun tale into the hands of any kid who’s ever wished to find fairies in the backyard.” 

Bookpage

"With a dash of imagination and a heap of adventure, Slater’s middle grade fantasy debut, starring 12-year-old biracial cousins Rufus and Abigail, is certain to appeal to readers of varying ages. . . [A] twisting slide into human-versus-other politics, rebellion against authority, and wrestling with consequences.”

 — Publishers Weekly

"With mischievous feylings, goblins, and magic, this is an exciting, fast-paced middle-grade fantasy. A delightful read for anyone who loves magic.”

Kirkus

"Slater has created a fun, emotionally driven fairy story. . . An excellent readalike for “The Spiderwick Chronicles” by Tony DiTerlizzi and Holly Black; recommended for any young fantasy fans.”

—School Library Journal

"[A]n entertaining, fantastical summertime story."
—The Horn Book

 

"A brilliant story teller, Slater has filled The Book of Fatal Errors with unexpected twists, an engaging mystery and endearing characters, both human and magical. Oh, I do hope for a sequel!” 

— Kiss The Book

"Amusing scenes balance weightier ones in this appealing chapter book, the first of two volumes planned for the Feylawn Chronicles series.”

Booklist

©2009 Dashka Slater. Designed in Wix by Dan Reitz